Golden Age by DigitalArtPhotography

::: Satya Yuga :::

The satia-iuga is the first of the ages of the world.

Satia-IUGA in total lasts 4800 years: the era itself 4000 years, the beginning (dawn) 400 years and end (sunset) another 400 years.

These are 4800 years of men, 2 but later Hinduism as 3 are 4800 years of the gods (which amount to 1,728,000 years of men).

The method of spiritual liberation in this first era is dhiana (‘meditation’).

In this higher IUGA, everyone can experience spirituality by direct intuition. The veil between the realms of the transcendental material and becomes almost transparent. According to Natia Shastra, no presentations Natia (dance) in the satia-IUGA because it is a period free of any kind of unhappiness or misery. Satia-IUGA is also called the Golden Age.

via 500px

Paramahamsa by DigitalArtPhotography

The swan has a special association with advaita vedAnta. The swan is called hamsa in the sam.skRta language. The greatest masters in the advaita tradition are called paramahamsas – the great swans. The word hamsa is a variation of so’ham: I am He, which constitutes the highest realization. There are other equivalences between the swan and the advaitin, that make the swan a particularly apt symbol for advaita vedAnta. The swan stays in water, but its feathers remain dry. Similarly, the advaitin lives in the world, yet strives to remain unaffected by life’s ups and downs.

The swan is thus a symbol for the jIvanmukta, who is liberated while still alive in this world, by virtue of having realized Brahman.

via 500px